Adventure | Botanical Wonderland

📍Benmore Botanical Gardens, Dunoon.

Firstly, I’d like to point out that I’m an outdoors type-of-gal. I can’t stand being stuck inside all day. It’s a blessing and a curse, because on days like last week (think rain, hail and everything in between!) I dragged my partner and our camera across the River Clyde on a ferry and up a mountain. I’m sure he would have rathered a date night to the cinema, but c’est la vie!

I’d been to Benmore Gardens only once before, but even that was about 15 years ago. I remembered certain parts; the path lined with Redwoods, outlook post at the top of the hill, and the homely little cafe. But the rest was a mystery.


Let me tell you, it did not disappoint. We were welcomed by a magnificent avenue of Giant Redwoods, the most stunning entrance to any botanical garden I’ve seen so far. The kind lady at the ticket office informed us that they now stand over 50 metres high. Quite a feat to translate to camera. Alex had even cheered up a bit, when he saw the views. Up the hill we climbed, literally through low lying clouds, were we were greeted by wonderful views from the heart of Scotland and the Holy Loch.


There are around seven miles of trails throughout Benmore Gardens, each pathway transporting you to another botanical destination. This includes a Chilean viewpoint, a Japanese valley and Victorian Fernery, with over 70 different types of ferns, beautifully positioned in the rock of a hillside.


There are so many different areas of the gardens, I can’t recommend it enough. I’m sure we missed a few areas, so will be back over on the ferry… as soon as it stops raining!


Do you know of any hidden botanical gems? Comment below!

Benmore Gardens | Admission: £6.50 for Adults. £5.50 for Concessions. Free for Under 16’s.

Leave a Reply

